A Simple Christmas

“O Holy Night
The stars are brightly shining
It is the night of our dear Savior’s birth
Long lay the world in sin and e’er pining
‘Til He appeared and the soul felt its worth
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.”

This is the Christmas carol we all know.

This year’s Christmas is really different. Why? Because I’m having fever, running nose and coughing. I’m basically a walking germs spreader. So no crazy Christmas celebration this year.

But don’t feel sorry for me 🙂

Exactly 2 weeks ago, before I departed to S’pore, I had a to-do list in mind. I remember I told myself to take tons of photos with those beautiful Christmas decorations, have a crazy shopping spree in Sephora, buy clothes, have awesome meals, etc

Don’t laugh! I was really holiday-deprived and I wanted to kind of compensate myself because I had a not-so-fabulous birthday back in November.

But guess what? I ended up doing nothing. I tried to shop in Sephora, because I really wanted one of those Benefit Holiday Gift Sets. But then when I was about to choose one, I realized that I didn’t actually any of those. Gosh! I can’t even finish my cosmetics, and my makeup drawers were all full.

When I was on my way back here, I was kind of frustrated, because I didn’t do anything worth-blogging nor Instagram worthy. All I was thinking was that, “Jasmine, you are going to have a crappy Christmas!!!” And what’s worse? I started to feel feverish!

Fast forward to just now, after dinner. While I was sitting in the dining room, self-pitying, my parents were discussing about the house visitation and food distribution they are doing tomorrow morning.

After listening to their conversations, and I was reminded again the true Christmas spirit.

Christmas is never about Christmas trees, ornaments, fancy meal, shopping and Instagramming.

As much as I love shopping, it shouldn’t be my life’s first priority.  I took shopping so seriously that I almost forgotten the true meaning of Christmas.

Jesus came to this world to give us faith, hope and love.

It’s true that I miss my friends, and I miss our Christmas-New Year dinner tradition. But it shouldn’t be the thing that hinder me from recognizing the blessings God has showered me.

It’s only 6 days to the year of  2016.

Here are a few things I’m thankful for:

  1. I got to spend almost all the important festivals with my family.
  2. I had the opportunity to be there and held my great-grandmother’s hand when she breathed her last breath.
  3. My study loan was paid.
  4. I travelled with my mom 3 times in one year.
  5. My loving and understanding parents.
  6. I’m debt-free.
  7. I haven’t lost my voice yet!!!
  8. My friends in Paris were and are safe!
  9. Good weather, no flood!
  10. Jesus loves me for who I am.

I think I’m going to join my parents tomorrow morning.Hopefully the nasty flu will be gone when I wake up in the morning 🙂

So this is my very simple Christmas. What’s your Christmas plan?

Blessed Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

