Penang one-day shopping trip HAUL!!!!

Last Friday, a very good friend and I, together with my younger brother finally went to Penang for a quick shopping trip. Our original goal was to shop as many as we can in Gurney Paragon, but we decided to visit First Avenue as well.

Therefore, this is not a Penang Island travel guide, because as much as I wish I had time to enjoy myself on the beach, or take photos at every single mural done by the talented Ernest Zacharevic, or the CAT MURAL I’ve been wanting to see since last year, I just did not have enough time. The next trip shall not be just one day, I will definitely make it at least a two day thing.

If you followed me on Instagram, you probably would have seen this photo.

IMG_20150307_112731

As you can tell, I only went to H&M, Sephora, Victoria’s Secret, Cotton On and Padini. It was not a super crazy shopping trip, due to the fairly tight budget, and time constraint.

20150307_125435

I honestly thought I would buy skirts, dresses, or blouses, but I bought loafers instead. I like the pointy toes and also the nautical stripes. It’s casual, comfortable and cute, and I just had to buy them. Plus, it’s only MYR 49.90.

20150307_125858Hair elastics which are also from H&M. I guess the reason I bought them was that they reminded me of the rabbit ears wire headband that was such a hit a few years ago. I think I still have one in my wardrobe, but I just stopped wearing it since my second year in college. If I’ve not mistaken, it’s somewhere around MYR 14.90 for one.

20150307_130350I always wanted to get a dry shampoo, for one of those days when I don’t feel like washing my hair, but I just have to or else it will get super oily and disgusting. It’s summer everyday here in Malaysia. I was about to get Batiste dry shampoo, but I couldn’t find it anywhere, so I was thrilled to see one in Victoria’s Secret. I know it’s more expensive than Batiste (it’s MYR 70++ and Batiste is only MYR 30), but you will understand if you watched VS Fashion Show. All of them have fabulous and sexy hair, though my hair is no longer long and wavy but it’s just hard to resist. This was not on sales, but there was this buy any 3 hair products for MYR 121, and my friend bought one total volume shampoo and one dry shampoo. In other words, I only paid MYR 40. There was also this buy one free one promotion on some selected makeup palettes, but we were actually hoping to see some lingeries, but unfortunately, all of the VS stores in Malaysia are more like beauty, body and accessories store. I guess anyone wants to get sexy lingerie will visit La Senza, or better off, Agent Provocateur!!!

20150307_124732Bunny tote bag by Cotton On

FYI, I hadn’t bought anything from Cotton On for 2 years. It just feels like they keep recycling the old designs, and most of their dresses and skirts are too short for me. I don’t know about you but I’m not into the business of exposing my butt to the public. So, when I saw Cotton On in First Avenue, I was like “Yeah, let’s just go in for a few minutes before we leave.”, without any intention of buying anything. Just when I was about to leave the store, I saw a few canvas tote bags at the cash counter.

20150307_124911

The bunny one is only MYR 6 while this one is MYR 8. I know that they are not exactly very fashionable, but they are cute! And I think they are perfect for grocery shopping or a very casual day out with friends at the cafe nearby.

20150307_133132

 

I saw this cat t-shirt in when I was looking for my brother in Padini. People who know me would know that I will only shop in Padini during sales. Not only are the clothes in Padini totally overpriced, most of the clothes are also low-quality.

 

20150307_133534

 And for some reason, it feels like Padini is like the “uniform” for college students. I remember during my first year in college, there was this girl in my class wore Padini to college almost every single day. A weeks later, I found out that her pants were also from Padini. But I can’t judge her because soon after H&M launched their first flagship store in KL, H&M sort of became my “college uniform”. Both of the T-shirts I bought were on sales, only MYR 15 each.

20150307_130449

Benefit Porefect Couple

Sephora is definitely one of my favorite shopping places. It caters a lot of my favorite makeup and skincare brands, and most importantly, they always have awesome promotions. What’s not to love about Sephora?

I have to say, the staff in Sephora Gurney Paragon are way helpful and friendly than those in Sephora Avenue K. I went to Avenue K in January and I was ignored the whole time because they were busy touching up their makeup and complaining to each other about dry skin and oily hair.

Anyway, I mentioned in my last post that POREfessional is like the perfect primer for the oily T-zone and minimizing pores. So, I went to Sephora planning to get the actual size POREfessional and I found the “Porefect Couple”! It’s the same price as the actual size POREfessional, but you will get a deluxe sample of Total Moisture together with an actual size POREfessional, how cool is that?

At first glance, I mistaken Total Moisture as It’s Potent, and guess what, the sales assistant thought it was It’s Potent too, and she told me it was very good at reducing fine lines and dark circles. I came home only realized that it was actually Total Moisture.

20150307_130524

20150307_130642

I love the packaging, but a friend of mine said it looked like a coffin and the Spy Gal is lying inside of the coffin-like packaging. Now I feel like I should buy Agent Zero Shine as well, just like how I always want to buy They’re Real Push Up liner to pair with They’re Real Mascara, and also the itch to collect all of the tints.

20150307_132155

Did I tell you that Sephora is doing this promotion where if you purchased up to MYR 180, including skin care products, and you are a white card member then they will give you a Skin Care Survival Pack. So, since Porefect Couple was MYR 120, I was thinking of getting more cosmetics but I couldn’t make up my mind, so my brother decided to buy Sephora’s Soothing Cleansing Milk and my friend bought herself a Lip Butter. My friend took facial scrub and facial cleanser, my brother took all the Biotherm samples and I only wanted the Sephora waterproof eye makeup remover gel. I can tell you right now that the remover gel anf the cleansing milk are both very effective and comfortable to use. I’m starting to regret for not getting one for myself.

And before I left Penang, I did manage to go to the Benefit Boutique located in Gurney Plaza and I got my eyebrow waxed again. Contrary to my first Brow Bar experience in KLCC, this time was not exactly pleasant. The Brow Expect in Penang was not very friendly and he didn’t talk much, while the Brow Expert, Stephanie in KLCC was really friendly and we talked a lot. I guess this is one of the many differences between female and male. Guys are generally not that talkative, while we girls, just like to talk.

I am hoping that I could have a trip to Penang before the end of March, because Big Bad Wolf book sales is happening right now in Penang, and there are also some products I wish to purchase in Sephora.

Have you tried Benefit newly launched Roller Lash? If you did, please leave a comment below and tell what you think. I tried it once in Sephora and I thought the result was really cool, but not as dramatic as They’re Real.

Au Revoir!

Leave a Reply

