Lunar New Year + Benefit Haul & Review!!!

Happy Lunar New Year, everyone!!!!

Today is the third day of Lunar New Year and I finally get to spend some quality time alone at home. I actually wished I could sleep through my Lunar New Year holidays because things were crazily hectic in the office and I was craving holidays.

I am very glad that I’ve finally gotten myself a new laptop and now I can start learning photo and video editing.

11001580_10152707394386732_5688049348740602901_o

The family photo taken at my grandma’s on the first day of the Lunar New Year.

Now, my personal favourite from the reunion dinner on the New Year’s eve.

10960318_10152705694966732_1525218767816873363_o

For some reason I actually like this photo though I’m not sure where was I looking at.

I am really thankful that I did not get questions like “How much do you earn?”, “When is your turn to introduce us your boyfriend?”, etc

I finally splurged on Benefit Cosmetics and I tried most of the products I have in the past few days and I must say, I am very satisfied and they definitely worth every penny.

20150221_140237From left to right: They’re Real Mascara, Brow Zings and Benetint

These 3 has become my must-have products, especially Brow Zings. It makes my eyebrows look thicker and bolder. If you followed me on Instagram, you probably would’ve noticed the difference.

20150221_140105

Fun-Size Flirts

I bought Brow Zings and They’re Real mascara during my recent trip to KL and because my friend bought Sweet Tintations, so I was entitled to a free brow wax service at Benefit Brow Bar in KLCC. On top of that, I was also given 2 deluxe samples.

20150221_140158_Fotor

Lollitint & Bigger Than BB Big Easy Foundation

I remember there was a makeup pouch but I gave it to my friend. It felt like I was spending a lot of money but now I actually wish I spent more, because the products are all amazing!

20150221_141223

Fun-Size Flirts included 10 of Benefit’s top selling products, which are  Instant Come back Serum, That Gal brightening face primer, Porefessional Pro balm, Stay Don’t Stray, Sunbeam, Ooh La Lift, Posietint, They’re Real mascara, Bad Gal mascara and Dandelion face powder.

Even though they are all in deluxe sample size/ travel size and I thought buying the set was a foolish idea, I changed my mind. The truth is that we don’t actually use a lot of the products when we do our makeups, because a little goes a long way. Plus, for a Benefit newbie like I am, I want to try as many products as I can before I commit to a full size product.

Here are my opinions after using some of the products for almost a week.

Instant Come Back Serum: It has a very lightweight gel-like consistency. I love how it instantly hydrates and energizes my skin, especially after a long day at work and my skin can be really dry and dull, but this product just instantly changes everything.

That Gal Brightening Face Primer: It is described as a silky pink primer that takes complexion from dull to darling, blend it on for a smoother and brighter skin. It does brighten up my skin tone and improves the texture and complexion of my skin. But I think what I love the most about it is that it has a sweet yet subtle raspberry scent. It kind of improves my mood as well XD

The POREfessional PRO Balm: It says it’s a pro balm to minimize the appearance of pores and helps to improve skin’s texture. I applied it on my oily T-zone and guess what, it lasted for an entire day. It didn’t actually hide all the pores but it did minimize them, and skin was silky smooth after applying the balm.

Ooh La Lift: A legendary under-eye brightening boost looks like an instant eyelift. I applied it to my under-eye areas and it sort of brightened the areas, but it didn’t completely conceal the dark circles. It sort of worked, but it’s not really legendary.

Posietint: Frankly speaking, I didn’t like Posietint when I saw the commercial on YouTube, because I thought pink cheeks and pink lips were really mainstream. But after I tried the product, I must say Posietint is nothing short of awesome!! I applied it on my cheeks and also lips in the morning, and then I travelled to my grandma’s, bear in mind that the weather was very hot and humid but it stained on my cheeks and lips for one whole day. This is definitely going onto my shopping list.

Dandelion Face Powder: It is described as a ballerina pink pressed-highlighting powder. I think it is good for both warm skin tone and cool skin tone. I think it has some micro shimmer in it, it didn’t actually highlight my cheekbones, but it gave a very beautiful and feminine flush.

20150221_140402

Did I tell you that I had been dreaming of owning one since high school? But obviously it was too expensive for a high school student to purchase. And did you know that Benetint was invented because an exotic dancer requested the founders of Benefit something that could liven up her nipples with a touch of color and last all night through long performances?

At first glance, Benetint looks a lot like a nail polish because of its packaging. But it is actually a rose-hued cheek and lip tint that used to be called as “Rose Tint”. Unlike Posietint, which has a thicker and creamier texture, Benetint is completely liquid. Some people say that Benetint is harder to apply compared to the other tints like Posietint, Lollitint and Cha Cha tint, because of its texture, but to me, it’s fine. Just be extra careful when applying because you don’t want the tint to get everywhere on your make up table. It’s not gonna be pretty because I can assure you that this product stains like hell.

20150221_142011You can see that Posietint’s texture is thicker

20150221_142158

While Benetint is completely liquid

20150221_142116

Lollitint

At first I was scared to put on Lollitint on my cheeks because it’s described as a candy-orchid tint and it looks like a cold-toned purple. But Lollitint turned out to be more complementing than I thought.

The thing I love about Benetint is that it blends into my skin perfectly and gives my skin a very natural flush. The same goes to Posietint and Lollitint. They are definitely smudge-proof, kiss-proof, oil-proof and sweat-proof. And don’t worry, because they won’t magnify the pores like most of the cream blushers (or even powder blushers) do. Just be quick when applying because it stains very fast.

20150221_140308

They’re Real Mascara

This is probably one of the most talked-about mascaras in the beauty community. I was really psyched about the mascara even before I bought one. Now that I observed, I think the most unique part about this mascara is its brush. Unlike most of the mascara brushes, this one reaches out to the tiniest eyelashes, and because of the jet-black pigment, it kind of makes eyelashes look thicker. The best part is that it won’t smudge at all.

After a week of using Benefit’s products, there are a few products I’m planning to purchase, including Posietint, Lollitint, Instant Come Back Serum and also POREfessional. I also noticed that there are some really interesting beauty kits offered by Benefit like Feelin’ Dandy, Primping with the Star and How to Look the Best at Everything. And I really want to try Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow. So, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

