Unbox FujiFilm Instax Mini 8!!!!

Happy November, everyone!!!!!

In case you didn’t know, November is my birthday month!!! And I am not afraid to admit that I am one of those people who really love celebrating birthday. I got super super super excited when October ended. Even though I know for a fact that this November is gonna be a very busy month for me. In fact, the past week was already very hectic and stressful. I am really happy and proud that I finished all the works before the deadline.

So when I was busy working in my office, I kept telling myself that I would definitely reward myself with something big and something I’ve been thinking for a very very long time. And I thought of Instax Mini 8 instantly.

I had been thinking and thinking whether I should get the camera since  2 years ago. I remember when a Korean tourist asked me to take a polaroid photo for her and her friends using her instant camera in KLCC, I told myself that I was gonna get one but I always hesitated because of the price of the films.

But now that I’ve started working and it’s my birthday month and I hadn’t actually get myself something fancy in the past few years, I decided it was time to spurge a little!

At first I thought of getting one online, because I saw the price in one of the retailers and the price was around MYR350. The camera is only MYR182 on Lazada.Com. I did some research about the website and I found out that a lot of people are giving the website bad reviews. Some people made the payment but they just never receive the things they ordered, or they got the fake one. And then I found out this website called iPmart.Com which is also selling the camera at MYR189, which was really affordable too. But I just had this uncomfortable feeling in my stomach telling me not to get one online. Maybe I was just too scared. I’ve bought things like clothes, cosmetics, accessories online but I’m just not comfortable with buying electronic gadgets online.

Okay, so now I’m gonna show you the camera I bought yesterday from a photography shop.

20141108_150838

 

It is the FujiFilm Instax Mini 8 Gift Pack!!!

20141108_151358

It includes one Instax Mini 8 Camera, 3 packs of films and one 2015 calendar. There are only 2 packs of films in the photo because I already inserted one pack in the camera.

20141108_152518

 

And that’s the camera!!  I bought the yellow one. There are pink, yellow, blue, white and black. I think there are 2 new colors (Raspberry and Grape) coming out, but I’m not sure when will it be available in the market in Malaysia.

20141108_152611

This is how it looks like when it’s turned on. See the small button at the side of the lens, that’s the ‘on’ button. There’s no ‘off’ button, you just have to gently push the lens back and it’s off.

20141108_152623

As you can see, this is the dial where you can set the aperture. There are 5 modes, including indoor, cloudy, outdoor, sunny and hi-key. The camera itself will sense the lighting of the ambient and it’ll tell you which mode to choose. If you want a really bright photo, you can just choose hi-key.

20141108_152648

 

The number indicates the amount of films you have. And I have 9 left 🙂

20141108_152740

 

This is the calender included in the gift pack. And I put on the first polaroid I took using the Instax Mini 8 camera. I think I should probably decorate the photo a little.

This is my first camera and I really love it! This is probably not as good as a DSLR, but what I like about this camera is that I can capture a joyous moment and I can instantly have the photo in my hand. With all the photos I’ve taken, I can make a scrapbook or I can just put them on my notice board. And looking at a polaroid just reminds of the days when my father used to take photos for all of us using his old film camera. Seeing a polaroid photo is so nostalgic! I think this is a fun camera for documenting life vintage style.

If you are thinking of getting one, you should know that it probably won’t capture some super high quality photos like the DSLR does, and every photo you take has a price, it needs films to work. This is also why I won’t use it to take photos all the time. I will probably only use it to capture the moments I truly want to preserve.

So, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

