Homemade Facial Mask + Facial Cleanser & others

Untitled

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, I am now trying my very best to make time for blogging and experimenting. And honestly, this is the best way for me to relax my mind πŸ™‚

I am currently learning to make facial mask and facial cleanser using all edible ingredients such as yogurt, milk, honey, oats, fruits, etc.. And I thought should share how I made them and some of my thoughts about the results.

It all started few days ago I unintentionally bought an almost expired plain yogurt from the Dutch Lady’s truck that came to my office building. The reason I bought that yogurt was simply because it was really cheap (only MYR 1) and I thought it was the best deal I probably wouldn’t get from any supermarket or grocery stores. I went back to the office and only realized that the expiry date was only 3 days away. So I figured I might as well try the homemade yogurt mask that I had been dying to try since I was in high school.

So the facial mask I tried was really easy to make. It only consists of 2 ingredients, including plain yogurt and orange juice.

IMG_20141010_210412

I mixed 4 teapoons of yogurt and 1 orange together and I just massage the “Orange Yogurt” all over my face and waited for around 20 minutes and washed.

At first I thought my face would be all sticky and I would have to wash my face with facial cleanser, but to my surprise, it was not sticky nor dirty at all. It felt clean and I didn’t have to wash my face with facial cleanser afterwards, I just proceed to the moisturisng part like how I usually do.

The reason why I was using orange juice was because orange has milder citrus acid, which makes it more skin-friendly. Orange is also known as a very good source of Vitamin C, which helps improving skin texture and color, and it also helps to reduce dark spots and blemishes. Plus, it smells really good!

I have to say this is really good and I’m shocked at the fact that the orange juice actually gives my skin an instant glow! I’ve read from somewhere that orange helps to reduce oil from the skin. How good is that?!

Bonus point: You can just finish the yogurt by drinking them if you couldn’t use all of it on your face πŸ˜›

The second one is Oatmeal+Milk+Honey facial cleanser.

20141011_173437

It may looks ugly and messy, but I promise it’s very good!

For this facial cleanser, I mixed 2 tablespoons of oats, 2 tablespoons of milk and 1 teaspoon of honey together. You can the texture by adjusting the portion of the oatmeal and milk accordingly.

Oatmeal can be used as facial scrubs because it helps exfoliating skin and it absorbs and removes the dirts and impurities from skin surface. Plus, it also sooth dry and itchy skin, because it’s so gentle, it’s perfect even for sensitive skin! Normally, I really hate using facial scrubs, because it hurts and my skin always became very sensitive for a few days. But with oatmeal, my skin felt soft and hydrated. While honey and milk are not only moisturising, but also helps reducing blemishes, improving skin texture and keeping it healthy and glowing.

I think the only that bugs me is the fact that my face smelt like breakfast afterwards.

I am not ditching the regular facial cleanser, but I am going to use this edible facial cleanser at least three times a week. It’s not because that I’m too afraid of my skin ageing, but I think my skin needs some extra vitamins and especially moisturisation! Working in an air-conditioned office is not fun (for skin) at all!! It feels like the air-cond is always robbing my skin and hair of its moisture! So if I don’t start taking good care of my skin, I’d probably look like 52 by the time I reach my 25 ><

I also heard that egg yolk, mayonnaise and yogurt are some pretty awesome ingredients for hair care too. I might try making some edible hair mask next time, but I’m afraid that the egg yolk might makes my hair smelly.

Why am I experimenting edible skin care ingredients?

One the of the many reasons is definitely because it’s very budget friendly! Let’s be realistic, most of the very effective products are not very budget friendly. Take facial mask for example, even the cheapest one in Malaysia is around MYR 6 to 7 per sheet. Of course it doesn’t sound expensive if you were only buying one sheet; but truthfully, you can’t really expect some significant result with only one sheet of facial mask. Skin caring is a long term thing, we have our skin care routine every morning and every night, we might want to use some facial mask 3 or 4 times a week. So you do the maths, is that still really budget friendly?

For people like us, having stable job, earning decent salary, it is no big deal about going salon, buying cosmetics or even enjoy a spa treatment. But what about students or people who have lower salary? I used to be a student, and I always remember how difficult it was for me to decide whether I should save or splurge.

And to be frank, I can’t afford Shiseido or Origins even though I know for a fact that those products are really awesome. So since the natural ingredients can do such a great job, so why not? There’s no harm experimenting new things. And I love doing these sort of experiments!

Do share if you tried and also please let me know if you have some awesome “recipe” too! Β Sharing is caring ❀

Leave a Reply

